banner

That Facebook privacy hoax is back again


  • You don't need to post an update regarding your privacy on the social media juggernaut, no matter how dire you think the need is. The privacy ship has sailed.  Photo: Facebook

Folks, please ignore the latest Facebook privacy hoax going around at the moment.

You don’t need to post an update regarding your privacy on the social media juggernaut, no matter how dire you think the need is.

This week the same hoax somehow popped up again, warning users that unless they post a paragraph with some pseudo-intellectual legal jargon that everything they do on Facebook – post news link, a picture of their new grandbaby, or play a game – will be made public for all to see.

RELATED: Helpful hints on how to debunk annoying internet hoaxes and fake news

You may have seen this paragraph being shared, again.

“Deadline tomorrow !!! Everything you’ve ever posted becomes public from tomorrow. Even messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. It costs nothing for a simple copy and paste, better safe than sorry. Channel 13 News talked about the change in Facebook’s privacy policy. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future. With this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents.”

We’ve been seeing this since 2012, but here it is again.

Long story short(ish): you already signed away your privacy rights to some extent when you signed up for the free social media site. When you signed up for an account you probably zoomed right through the privacy policy and all its many terms and legal rap. You can’t go back on that agreement and no matter what you post on your profile can change that.

Facebook doesn’t technically own what you post but it does have the right to use it however they wish once you post it publicly, so be sure to change your privacy settings. Let’s face it though, do you think they really want to share with the world that you didn’t like the last Transformers movie?

Snopes.com, of course, has a great entry debunking the hoax as that’s what they do best.

So you can tell your mother, uncle, aunt, or distant cousins on Facebook that they don’t need to cut and paste anything to protect their content. They can always delete their account and go back to sending out mass emails.

They can go back to posting election memes, stories from questionable news outlets, and pictures of this year’s tomato plant haul.

What's Your Reaction?
WTF! WTF!
0
WTF!
Cute Cute
0
Cute
Buzz Buzz
0
Buzz
LOL LOL
0
LOL
Geeky Geeky
0
Geeky
Win Win
0
Win
Angry Angry
0
Angry
Fail Fail
0
Fail
Love Love
0
Love

log in

reset password

Back to
log in